News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Rod Dilemma

Started by east wind, July 10, 2011, 07:09:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

east wind

.......Or mibbee its just in my head.

I've been using the same bigger river rod for over ten years now. Its a 10ft Enigma EMG with what was called a middle to tip action.

To be honest until recently I've never had the notion to change, I've done OK with the old fella and I have a good rod/line combination which turns a fly over, so I've never seen the point in testing anything else.

Now I've got a niggling urge to try something new. Have I succumbed to the gloss of the advertisers?

I think the reason is that the wind in this country is wearing me down. Although I can usually plan my way around it can still get me from time to time.

So some advice would be appreciated. Do the fast actioned rods make a difference casting into the wind? I know some think the opposite. I've tried a few of Sage models and though alien and stiff to me, I think I might get used to one. My mate certainly puts out a nice line with his, however I'm concerned about the feel lifting into and playing a fish.

A rod that I'm drawn to and if the blurb is anything to go by might suit me is the Scott S4, anyone used one ?

A bit of a ramble here, any comments suggesting a fine river trout rod that will laugh at the face of the wind welcome, even those telling me not to be so daft, keep what I've got and to give all the money to charity or worse the missus.

Cheers,

Mac

Listen son, said the man with the gun
There's room for you inside.

Wildfisher

Quote from: east wind on July 10, 2011, 07:09:18 PM
A rod that I'm drawn to and if the blurb is anything to go by might suit me is the Scott S4, anyone used one ?