News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Online Shops

Started by scotty9, November 16, 2009, 07:39:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scotty9

I'm trying to get into fly tying at the mo as some of you may have seen from my other thread. Thanks for some advice from Buzz i've got the Fly Tying for Beginners book on its way to me. My question is though, once i identify a couple patterns I wish to practice with and have a list of materials that i need, where should I buy them?

I found www.taimen.com thanks to a thread on here that came up in searches and they seem very cheap for a lot of items. Any good? Also came across capes from irishtroutflies.com and they seemed to get good reviews on here.

Any advice on outlets to buy stuff would be great, as cheap as possible please whilst keeping some quality! I'm just beginning i don't need super high quality stuff but i don't want rubbish  :lol:

Clan Chief

I was at the BFFI recently. I was really impressed with Cookshill materials. Great quality and not too pricey Look.......
http://www.cookshill-flytying.co.uk/
You will get good quality bags of all sorts of feathers such as cdc, partridge, mallard and all game birds which are great for spiders at extremely good prices. They also do thread, dubbing and capes etc. If you give them a call and explain that you are a beginner I'm sure they will be most helpful.
I believe that its a good idea to get the best materials you can afford as they are much better to work with than inferior materials especially when you are a beginner. You will also get better results which will spur you on to improve even further. Just my opinion I'm sure others will agree.
I just took delivery of a load of materials for north  country spiders from them. Generous bags and fantastic quality.

Clan Chief

I would recommend starting with spiders.